November Classics Club Meme #16

“Pick a classic someone else in the club has read from our big review list. Link to their review and offer a quote from their post describing their reaction to the book.  What about their post makes you excited to read that classic in particular?”

 I very recently joined the Classics Club challenge and used the “big review list” to help me choose a few books on my list.  I chose Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston based on the review on Brona’s Books.  While I had heard of this book, I didn’t know much about it nor did I have any real interest in reading it.  Now it is on my Classics Club list and I have a copy on my bookshelf ready to go!  I love when people get really excited about a book because the feeling is just contagious!

“From the start, Janie’s voice is inside you. It has character, depth and personality. It’s like peeling an onion in reverse; Janie’s flesh and blood life is built up layer by layer through her voice. She grows on you from the inside out. Hurston is the master of turning a phrase that stops you in your tracks. And I suspect each time you read this story, the various phrases will work their magic differently.”

… Right??!  How could you not get excited by this?  I’m just sorry that I don’t have the same copy of the book.  I would love to have the intro by Zadie Smith.

Interesting side note:  Brona lives in Australia and is currently hosting AusReading Month.  So far, I’ve really enjoyed the Aussie-themed posts!  Now I just need to figure out how to get some Tim Tams’s delivered to my house.  lol

1 Comment

  1. Thank you so much for the shout-out. You've made my day 🙂

    Knowing that something I wrote has had an impact on someone else on the other side of the world is quite amazing.
    I hope you enjoy Janie's story as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

