It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (11/11/13)

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading is a fun weekly meme hosted by Sheila at Book Journey where we share what we’ve read and reviewed over the past week and what we plan to read next.


Most of the last week was spent on East of Eden by John Steinbeck.  I have been enjoying it immensely and while I normally read fairly quickly, I’ve found myself really slowing down for this one.  There is so many touching situations and metaphorical passages that I feel like I need to slow down in order to absorb them.  Not sure if that makes sense, but there you have it.

I should be finishing this up in a day or two since I’m only about 100 pages shy of the end.  Even though I haven’t quite finished, I’m already thinking about the next time I read it!  I would like to participate in a group read in the future because I think I would get even more out of it that way.





I’ve also been dabbling a bit in Volume 2 (the library did not have the 1st volume available) of The Complete Short Stories of W. Somerset Maugham.  I’ve enjoyed the first several stories so far and I’m so glad that I’m discovering the world of short stories.  I will discuss this more when I get further into these.  I’m still trying to figure out how I am feeling so invested in these characters in just a few pages.  Crazy.




I received Stella Bain by Anita Shreve from the publisher after winning a Goodreads giveaway.  I’ve started it, but I’m only about 25 pages in.  So far, it’s pretty interesting.  It’s a historical fiction set in WWI London about a woman who wakes up in the hospital and doesn’t remember who she is.  I plan to finish this one up this week since it’s a fairly short read.



I’ve also picked up a copy of Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward.  It is set here in Mississippi so the local library is very proud to carry multiple copies and keep them on a special “Mississippi table”.  It also won a National Book Award, so I figured I might see what it was about.  It looks like it’s about poverty and alcohol addiction which pretty much sums up any book I’ve already read that was set in Mississippi.  I’m not giving up on my mission to find a positive, uplifting book set in this state.







Monkey Mind: A Memoir of Anxiety by Daniel Smith is a book I’ve been working on for awhile now.  I’ve been reading it in very small pieces and I’m just before giving up on it completely.  I have struggled with anxiety myself and I’m drawn to books about it, but this one just isn’t doing anything for me.  I’m not identifying with most of his specific issues and I don’t find the comedic bits to be that funny.  I’m either finishing it this week or it’s a DNF.



That wraps up my plans for this week!  What are you planning on reading?


13 Comments

  1. I like Anita Shreve! However, East of Eden is an amazing book. Steinbeck is a fantastic author but I think Eden is my favorite of his. I just found my copy and am thinking about reading it again (for the fifth time! LOL).

    Enjoy!!!!

  2. I'm always glad to see other people who read multiple books at a time; it makes me feel less insane. I like Steinbeck but I remember East of Eden as being a lot shorter; maybe I've forgotten most of it… Looks like a good week of books.

  3. I'm reading Quiet for the 30th with my book club and attempting to start and finish David Copperfield as quickly as I can, which is with the Classics Club. While reading David Copperfield I'll be reading The Slynx for the International Reads Book Club over on Goodreads. To top all of that off I'm participating in NaNoWriMo. November is a busy reading month.

  4. Ha! My attention span is really on the verge of ridiculous. I usually have a whole stack of books going at any given time. I only talk about a select few on my blog and goodreads because I don't want people to think I'm too crazy!

Leave a Reply

